Medical Identification Codes

  • AMR 

AMR stands for the “Automated Medical Record.” The Automated Medical Record is one of the five levels of the electronic healthcare record (EHCR).  The Automated Medical Record is arguably the simplest and least technologically advanced component of the EHCR in that it is a paper-based record (the oldest type available) with some computer-generated documents.  The computer generated documents are usually related to printouts of clinical tests, or a summary of clinical tests that were aggregated by computer.

  • CMR

CMR stands for the “Computerized Medical Record.”   The Computerized Medical Record is the second of the five levels of the electronic healthcare record (EHCR).  The Computerized Medical Record essentially implements the medical information available on the AMR into fully computerized form. That is, it makes all of the documents of the AMR electronically available.

  • CMS 

CMS stands for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid.  CMS is the federal agency that deals with the administration of the Medicare and Medicaid public insurance programs.  It not only deals with the administration of benefits, but it also deals with the development of programs.

  • CMS-1500

CMS-1500 stands for a standard paper form. The CMS 1500 is typically used by either health care professionals or suppliers for billing purposes: The form is typically used to bill Medicare carriers or Part A/B and Durable Medical Equipment Medicare Administrative Contractors.  The form must be used within a year to receive proper compensation.

  • CPT

CPT stands for the “Current Procedural Terminology” code.  The CPT is a set of codes established by the American Medical Association via the CPT Editorial Panel. The CPT codes describes a number of services (e.g., medical and surgical) that are given to patients in hospitals.

  • DRG

DRG stands for “Diagnostic Related Group”.  The DRG systems was initially proposed in the 1980s as a replacement for cost-based codes, or simply codes that billed procedures for Medicare.  The DRG code attempts to give an actual diagnosis of an individual’s medical condition, admittedly based on limited information.  The Medicare program primarily used DRGs as billing codes since 1982.

  • EPR

EPR stands for “electronic patient records.” Electronic patient records is a similar concept to electronic medical records that store an individual’s medical information on a record.  Electronic patient records are deemed better than traditional paper patient records for a number of reasons.  First, electronic patient records, at least in theory, are less likely to have egregious mistakes caused by poor penmanship or simple disorganization.  Second, they allow for greater integration of a patient’s care away from his/her core provider.  For example, if an individual goes to the emergency room in a different geographical location, an electronic patient record would allow the attending physicians to know the patient’s basic medical history without asking the individual or contacting the other institution.

  • HL-7

HL-7 stands for “Health Level Seven International”, which is a global authority on the interoperability of health information technology.  HL-7 basically provides standards for the exchange of health information across different platforms and systems.  This is the hallowed, but difficult to achieve notion of interoperability.  That is, even though different medical organizations may store information in different formats, computers would be able to access it and display it without a commensurate loss of meaning.

  • ICD 9

ICD 9 is the ninth version of the international classification of disease (ICD), a system of disease classification originally proposed by the World Health Organization.  The ICD system is used to classify different medical conditions in medical institutions.

  • UB-92

UB-92 is a medical claims form that is used by medical institutions to charge for services provided.